X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • William R. Short
    3Dfollower
    • Jul 2022

advice requested for creating 3D model of ancient medieval weapons

Help and advice is needed, please. I am starting a project to create 3D models of Viking-age weapons using 3df Zephyr Lite, but I am struggling to get a good reconstruction from my photos.

I am a beginner both with 3D photogrammetry and Zephyr. The object is photographed on a turntable in a light box, so lighting should be good. The camera is a point-and-shoot on full manual mode, mounted on a tripod, and on a shutter delay so there should be no camera shake. I tried both a Android cell phone camera (not as good images) and a fancy mirrorless camera (images about the same).

I started with some simple objects, such as paperweights with textured, detailed surfaces, and got excellent reconstructions. I tried some replica Viking weapons which I dulled (to avoid reflections from the shiny surfaces) with powder spray, and got very good reconstructions, although the sharp edges of the weapons were never as crisp or detailed as I wished - they looked like moths had been eating the edges, rather than smooth, straight edges.

I can't do anything to mess with the historical artifacts when I scan them. I can only scan them as is without any sprays or targets attached. I am unable to get good reconstructions with the one artifact I have to work with.