X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SGT
    3Dflower
    • Oct 2017

Loss of detail / Bumpy object on export

Hey y'all - I am using the 13 day trial of 3DF Zephyr Lite. I've created an object in Zephyr and it looks great - super crisp, great texture detail. When I export it (have tried both OBJ and FBX) and import it into unity, the mesh is super bumpy. I can't tell if the texture isn't working properly, if I've exported something incorrectly, or if I've imported something into Unity incorrectly. Any tips for a total beginner?

thanks!
  • Andrea Alessi
    3Dflow Staff
    • Oct 2013

Hello SGT!

It's difficult to say without a screenshot, so here is my best guess:

To understand if you're happy with the reconstructed mesh, make sure to enable the lighting in Zephyr as well (the lightbulb icon). If you are actually happy with your mesh, then make sure you are using an appropriate shader in unity, but the default one should work well.

The most common issue we see, is that you may have used georeferenced images (i.e. from a cellphone with GPS enabled). If Zephyr detects GPS data in the exif, it will generate a georeferenced model, which most viewers are not able to correctly render (basically, vertices are written in double rather than in float). In order to avoid this, you have to check the "export in local coordinates" in the export dialog.

I hope this helps

if you have any further question i'm also available to have a look at your dataset/zep.

Comment

• SGT
      3Dflower
      • Oct 2017

Here's some screenshots to demonstrate the issue (first shot is in Unity, second is the OG in Zephyr).

It sounds like georeferencing might be the issue as I was using images from a cell phone, although I could've sworn I disabled that. Maybe the new OS update reverted my settings. In any case, I do not see an option to "export in local coordinates" in the export dialog. I've also uploaded a screenshot of what my dialog box looks like.